How to Create a Task List
The Task List feature can be used to create shift check lists for various users in the PMS (ie: AM Front Desk Task List, PM Front Desk Task List, Night Audit Task List, Switchboard Task List, etc…).
The following article reviews how to create a Task List using the Message Center.
Creating a Task List
Proceed to Operations > Message Center > New Entry.
There are two options at this point:
Option 1: Use a pre-existing Task List
Option 2: Create a new Task List
The task will appear in the box below. The Remove button can be used to remove an Item and the Edit button can be used to edit an item.
IMPORTANT NOTE: DO NOT use apostrophes in the Task List items, as it will cause an "Incorrect syntax near 's'" error message. If this error is encountered, find the apostrophe and remove it from the list by using the Edit button.
The Task List will now be attached to this Task.
Fill in the remaining fields of the Task as required. In the below example there are no reminders setup for this task, however, it is set up to repeat every day, 7 days a week with no ending date.
The Create to 0, ensuring this Task List will appear in everyone’s My Tasks on the day & time it is due.
As it was a Night Audit Task List that was created, for Message Recipients, only the Night Audit Staff have been selected. For managers creating Task Lists for staff, ensure to also check Add to "My Tasks" Listing to be able to view the progress of the Task Lists, and to ensure they are being completed.
Proceed to the Sent Items tab. By double clicking on the task under the Sent Items tab, the following options will be available:
- View Task Attachment - click to view the Task List, and check off items as they are completed. NOTE: Task List Tasks (not the Task List templates) are deleted from the PMS 30 days after they are completed
- Add Comment – click to add a comment to this task without completing it
- Who’s Read? - click to view who's read the task NOTE: Only the person that set the Task is able to view who's read the task.
- Edit – click to edit the task. NOTE: Only the person that set the task can edit the task
NOTE: The Operations Clerk Permission - 1553 Allow View/Edit of Tasks by Other Users allows a user that has the permission to view/edit/delete tasks created by other users (by doing a Search under the “Sent Items” tab for tasks that are “Created By” a selected User). If a task that has been read by other users is deleted, a message will be sent to those users to notify them that the task has been deleted.