How to Cancel a Reservation
In this Article we will show how to Cancel an existing reservation.
First locate the reservation you wish to be canceled using Advance Search (F3). Ensure the black arrow is pointed at the correct reservation. Once the reservation has been located, click Cancel located at the top of the screen.
Use the Reason drop down menu to select the reason this reservation is being cancelled (Note: the list of reasons are customizable, and can be edited by going to System Configuration > Property > Reasons tab > Cancel/Checkout Reasons)
There are two possible options when cancelling a reservation:
- Cancel Res – this will cancel the reservation without penalty
- Cancel & Charge – this will cancel the reservation, and based on the property's Cancellation Policy, a penalty will apply. This penalty will be based either on a specific number of nights, a percentage of the guests stay or a fixed amount. For more information on cancellation policies, please see the article How to Create a (Cancellation) Policy in the System Configuration Manual.
NOTE: Assuming a Cancellation Policy is set in place for the PMS, when cancelling the reservation outside of the cancellation period, typically the Cancel & Charge button will be grayed out, as there is no penalty to be charged (See below).