How to Check-Out a Reservation with Charge Routing
In this article we will explain what Charge Routing is and show how this done in your PMS.
Charge Routing is when you have charges setup to transfer from one Reservation to another Reservation. This transfer occurs at the time of checkout. If you have Reservation A setup to transfer room charges to Reservation B, Reservation A must be checked out first. If you check Reservation B out before Reservation A, then the charges will not route to Reservation B.
Locate the reservation you wish to checkout. Remember, you must checkout the reservation where the Routing is setup first. Here you can see that Res ID 5991 has <All> charges setup to route to Res ID 5979. Therefore, we must checkout Res ID 5991 first.
Once the “Check-Out” button has been selected a box will appear confirming the charges that are to going to be transferred to the other Reservation. If everything appears correct, select OK to continue with the transfer. If anything appears in the list that should not be routed, simply uncheck under the “Routed” column for that transaction so it will not transfer.
The checkout screen will appear and you can see that the Balance is $0.00 as all charges have been routed to Res ID 5979. Select Check-Out to continue.
NOTE: If the guest had charges that were not being routed and that they needed to pay on their own, they would appear on the check-out screen. You would then proceed with the checkout as normal.