Support Centre

How to Set a Room to Inactive

Updated

The following article reviews how to deactivate an existing Room or Room type that is no longer required. There are a few options available: 

  • Deactivate the room type, including any attached rooms
  • Deactivate the room type only and move the attached rooms to another active room type
  • Deactivate specific room number/s only and keep the room type active

Note: Prior to making a room type inactive in the above scenarios, you must first ensure there are no future reservations or blocks on the relevant room numbers, this may involve canceling reservations, or moving them to a different room type depending on your situation.

If you will be moving room numbers to a different room type, any future reservations or blocks should be moved to the new room type. In some situations you may need to temporarily 'overbook' the room type until the process is complete.

Deactivate a Room Type including all attached rooms

To deactivate a Room Type and all attached rooms, go to System Configuration > Room Inventory

Select the room type you wish to deactivate and click modify

Check 'Set to Inactive' 

Hit 'Post'

The room type along with it's associated rooms are now inactive

Deactivate a Room Type Only

To deactivate a Room Type and move the attached rooms to an existing room type, go to System Configuration > Rooms

Select the room type from the dropdown box

Select the room number you wish to change to another room type and click Modify

Select the new Room Type from the dropdown box and click Ok

Repeat this process for each room number


In the below example the OV room number 22 is being modified to room type QQ

Once all individual rooms have been moved to the new room type, you can now deactivate the room type that is no longer required. 

Go to System Configuration > Room Inventory

Select the room type you wish to deactivate and click modify

Check 'Set to Inactive' 

Hit 'Post'

Deactivate a specific room number/s only and keep the room type active

First you will need to ensure you have a 'fake' room type to move these rooms to. 

If you already have a 'fake' room type, you will need to ensure it is active. See How to reactivate a room  for instructions. If you do not have one you'll need to create a new room type See How to create a new room type for further instructions. It is recommended the 'fake' room type be named Inactive Rooms or similar. 


Once you have your 'fake' room type ready, go to System Configuration > Rooms

Select the room type from the dropdown box where your rooms are located

Select the room number you wish to deactivate and click Modify

Select the 'fake' Room Type from the dropdown box and click Ok

Repeat this process for each room number


In the below example the OV room number 22 is being modified to room type Inactive Rooms

Once you have moved all relevant room numbers to your 'fake' room type, you may then deactivate it. 

See the above help guide Deactivate a Room Type including all attached rooms


Previous Article How to Create a New Room Type
Next Article How to Make a Room Type available on eRes Booking Engine
Have a question for us? Submit a Support Case